ASEAN Gems and Jewelry Presidents’ Summit

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional intergovernmental organisation in Southeast Asia. Founded in 1967, ASEAN currently comprises 10 official members, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand, Singapore, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam.

10 ASEAN countries

The 9th Summit will be held in Hong Kong on 3 March, 2020. The Hong Kong Jewellery and Jade Manufacturers Association (HKJJA) was elected as the organiser. Since the inception of the summit in 2012, HKJJA has been the only Hong Kong jewellery organisation invited to attend and has been playing an important role in representing the Hong Kong jewellery industry. It is a great opportunity to discuss the current situation and opportunities of the industry, while promoting Hong Kong’s jewellery to the international audience.

The first three summits were hosted by Thailand; started the fourth edition, the summit has been held in rotation by other ASEAN members. In 2018, China became the first non-ASEAN- member country to host the summit in Shanghai.